Bennetts British Superbike Championship is back

Oulton Park is set to host the opening round of BSB this weekend

The Bennetts British Superbike Championship finally returns this coming weekend at Oulton Park – 250 days after Josh Brookes was crowned champion.

There are plenty of familiar faces returning this year as well as an exciting crop of new riders with their sights firmly set on glory in the best domestic superbike series in the world.

Below is all the information you’ll need for this weekend including a full schedule for the BSB class, Oulton Park track details and the 2021 rider list.

First of all lets take a look at what’s new/returning for 2021.

TRIPLE HEADERS AT EVERY ROUND: Following the positive reaction to the triple-header events during 2020, all eleven events this season will feature a three race format for Bennetts BSB, bringing more action into a championship season than ever before.

THE SHOWDOWN RETURNS WITH SOME CHANGES: The Main Season will now consist of 8 events and 24 races.

Points will be awarded to the first 15 finishers using the regular format of 25-20-16-13-11-10-9-8-7-6-5-4-3-2-1.

After the 24th race, the top eight riders in the championship standings will graduate as ‘Title Fighters‘ and be elevated to 1000 points together with any Podium Points accrued in the Main Season.  Podium Points will be awarded for each main season race as follows:  1st – 5 points, 2nd – 3 points, 3rd – 1 point.

For the remaining 3 events, 9 races, points will awarded to the first 15 finishers using the regular format of 25-20-16-13-11-10-9-8-7-6-5-4-3-2-1.

FANS ARE BACK!: For the first time since October 2019 there will be spectators in the grandstands at a BSB race. The opening round will see 4,000 passionate fans watching on. It is hoped that this will increase to pre-pandemic levels after the 19th July but this is dependent on government guidelines.

NEW WEEKEND FORMAT: The event programme will also take on a new format, with the opening day of the event returning to two SUPERPICKS free practice sessions for the BSB class. The fastest 12 riders overall will be seeded directly to the Day 2 Qualifying 2 (Q2) session.

The second day of action will begin with a third, shorter Bennetts BSB free practice session in the morning, followed by Qualifying 1 (Q1), where the fastest six riders will progress through to the Q2 session to join the 12 pre-qualifiers from the opening day in the final fight for the pole position for the opening Bennetts BSB race.

The opening race of the weekend kicks off on Saturday afternoon with the BikeSocial race, ahead of the two feature races on Sunday.

FP112:45 – 13:25
FP215:50 – 16:30
FP310:05 – 10:25
Q113:15 – 13:27
Q213:34 – 13:46
RACE 116:15 (14 laps)
Warm up12:00 – 12:10
RACE 213:45 (18 laps)
RACE 316:45 (18 laps)
Track Details – Oulton Park
Length2.69 miles/4.33km
BSB Lap RecordTommy Bridewell (2019) 1:33.941
1Josh BrookesAUSVisionTrack Ducati
2Glenn IrwinGBRHonda Racing
4Dan LinfootGBRTAG Racing Honda
5Dean HarrisonGBRSilicone Engineering Kawasaki
7Ryan VickersGBRRAF Regular & Reserve Kawasaki
11Brian McCormackIRLRoadhouse Macau by FHO Racing BMW
12Xavi ForésESPFHO Racing BMW
13Takumi TakahashiJPNHonda Racing
14Lee JacksonGBRFS-3 Racing Kawasaki
18Andrew IrwinGBRSynetiq BMW Motorrad
20Brad JonesGBRiForce Lloyd & Jones BMW
21Christian IddonGBRVisionTrack Ducati
22Jason O’HalloranAUSMcAms Yamaha
27Bjorn EstmentRSAPowerslide/Catfoss Racing Suzuki
28Bradley RayGBRRich Energy OMG Racing BMW
40Joe FrancisGBRiForce Lloyd & Jones BMW
44Gino ReaGBRBuildbase Suzuki
46Tommy BridewellGBROxford Products Racing Ducati
52Danny KentGBRBuildbase Suzuki
60Peter HickmanGBRFHO Racing BMW
65Josh OwensGBRRapid CDH Racing Kawasaki
69Rory SkinnerGBRFS-3 Racing Kawasaki
74Joey ThompsonGBRNP Motorcycles BMW
77Kyle RydeGBRRich Energy OMG Racing BMW
79Storm StaceyGBRTeam LKQ Euro Car Parts Kawasaki
83Danny BuchanGBRSynetiq BMW Motorrad
88Ryo MizunoJPNHonda Racing
95Tarran MackenzieGBRMcAms Yamaha

Words: Daniel Blackham Lead Image: Ducati UK