Dimitri Bergé victorious in Marmande

Results from the opening round of the 2021 FIM Long Track World Championship

Dimitri Bergé only dropped two-points on his way to victory in the opening round of the 2021 FIM Long Track World Championship at Marmande, France. The 2019 champion – riding as a local wildcard – produced a riding clinic in challenging conditions to take the top step ahead of Romano Hummel and Theo Pijper.

Heavy rain fell throughout the day and, despite practice taking place, racing was delayed until 21:45. However, after the opening two races it was clear the track needed more attention and riders requested further work be taken. The organisers removed the top surface and repacked the base and racing eventually resumed at 23:15.

At the end of the qualifying heats, Bergé along with Dutchman Romano Hummel and Czech surprise, Hynek Stichauer moved directly into the Final. Theo Pijper and Chris Harris joined them via the last chance qualifier.

It was almost 2.00am when the Final started, and it was a difficult race at the end of a long and tiring meeting which had clearly affected the riders’ stamina. Bergé took the lead but Hummel, whose grass track experience saw him able to cope well with the track, chased hard and was a close second at the end of four laps.

A courageous ride by Theo Pijper saw him finish in third place despite having dislocated his shoulder. Stichauer was also in the wars and a twisted knee required the attention of the medical team after the race. Chris Harris retired in last place but gained solid points for the championship.

The next round is set to be held in Rzeszow, Poland on the 28th August.

2021 FIM Long Track World Championship Final 1 – Marmande, France
1Dimitri BergéFRA21
2Romano HummelNED19
3Theo PijperNED17
4Hynek StichauerCZE15
5Chris HarrisGBR13
6James ShanesGBR11
7Jacob BukhaveDEN10
8Martin SmolinskiGER9
9Bernd DienerGER8
10Dave MeijerinkNED7
11Lukas FienhageGER5
12Julien CayreFRA4
13Zach WajtknechtGBR3
14Jordan DubernardFRA2
15Gaetan StellaFRA1
16Josef FrancCZE0
17Thomas H. JonassonSWE0

Lead Image: © Jesper Veldhuizen