FIM Hard Enduro heads to Tennessee

Red Bull Tennessee Knockout to host round five of the FIM Hard Enduro World Championship

The Trials Training Center in Sequatchie Tennessee will host round five of the FIM Hard Enduro World Championship (HEWC) this coming weekend, August 13-15. For the first time ever, all the top hard enduro riders from around the world will compete against the best North American riders on US soil.

The Red Bull Tennessee Knockout (TKO), now in its eleventh year, has become one of the premier off-road motorcycle races in the US and serves as the AMA Grand Championship for Extreme Off-Road racing. Many of the top international riders have competed in the TKO in the past, but this will be the first time they will all be competing at the same time and competing for World Championship points.

The TKO has used the same format since the first event in 2011, which pre-qualifies the top riders to a four-round knockout format on Sunday. Saturday will have over 400 riders competing in two rounds of racing with the second race serving as the AMA Amateur Grand Championship for Extreme Off-Road. The top 30 riders from Saturday earn the opportunity to compete with the best riders on Sunday.

“Unlike some extreme or hard enduro events that run for several hours, we chose to use a multi-round format for the TKO to keep the racing tight,” said Eric Peronnard, the co-producer of the TKO. “The pro riders compete four times on Sunday and race for over three hours, but the final results all come down to a final multi-lap race with the top fifteen riders on a challenging course, so it is very intense racing for the riders and exciting for the fans.”

Peronnard also added, “We have to thank Winfried Kerschhaggl, the FIM, and AMA for all of their effort to make it possible to make the Red Bull Tennessee Knockout part of the FIM Hard Enduro World Championship in very difficult times for international travel.”

FIM Hard Enduro World Championship Standings (After round 4)
1Manuel LettenbichlerAUTKTM37
2Billy BoltGBRHusqvarna33
3Wade YoungRSASherco25
4Jonny WalkerGBRBeta24
4Mario RomanESPSherco24
6Taddy BlazusiakPOLGASGAS20
7Graham JarvisGBRHusqvarna15
8Michael WalknerAUTGASGAS14
9Alfredo GomezESPHusqvarna13
10Teodor KabakchievBGRHusqvarna11
11Sonny GoggiaITAGASGAS10
12Trystan HartUSAKTM9
13Dominik OlszowyPOLKTM8
14Matthew GreenRSAGASGAS7
15Travis TeasdaleRSAGASGAS6
16Cody WebbUSASherco4
17Leon HentschelGERGASGAS1
17Michele BosiITAKTM1

Lead Image: Future7Media